Friday, March 10, 2017 - New York City – The UN Women for Peace Association Annual Awards Luncheon was held at the UN Nations Headquarters in the Delegates Dining Room in celebration of International Women’s Day. The Luncheon will begin with a reception at 11:30AM, followed by lunch, and an awards ceremony.
Guests of Honor included: The UN President of the General Assembly, Peter Thomson and his wife Marijcke Thomson, Martha Stewart, Ambassador Nancy Brinker, Debra Messing, Cate Blanchett, Miss Universe (Iris Mittenaere) and Miss USA (Deshauna Barber). This year, Sana H. Sabbagh is the Luncheon Chair. For the first time, artist Anne De Carbuccia unveiled ‘Women’s Time Shine’ in celebration of International Women’s Day.
As has become the tradition, UN Women for Peace Association’s Chair Muna Rihani Al-Nasser and President Barbara Winston presented the awards during the ceremony. Each year, UN Women for Peace Association honors individuals who have made a difference in the lives of women and girls. The 2017 honorees are: Mrs. Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka (Executive Director, UN Women) who is being introduced by The President of the UN General Assembly, Peter Thomson, the Executive Director is receiving the Women Empowerment Award. FOX 5 NYC reporter Teresa Priola introduced Loreen Arbus (Loreen Arbus and The Loreen Arbus Foundation/The Goldenson-Arbus Foundation) who is receiving the Achievement Award. UNWFPA’s Vice President Rema DuPont is introducing David Batstone (President & Co-Founder, Not For Sale) with the Peace Award. 

Cate Blanchett introduced her friend Deborra-Lee Furness (Co-Founder, HOPELAND) with the Leadership Award.
Debra Messing introduced Dayle Haddon (Founder & CEO, WomenOne) who is receiving the Humanitarian Award, and Lin-Manuel Miranda will receive the Philanthropy Award. Miranda was not able able to attend the event; his mother Dr. Luz Towns-Miranda accepted the award on her son’s behalf.
UNWFPA’S Chairman, Muna Rihani Al-Nasser, “UN WOMEN FOR PEACE ASSOCIATION’S Aim is the  
empowerment of the women and the elimination of violence against women and girls. It is estimated that as many as 2.5 million people are trafficked annually into situations including prostitution, forced labor, slavery or servitude; women and girls account for about 80% of the detected victims.”
Luncheon guests were the first to see artist Anne De Carbuccia’s art installation ‘Women’s Time Shine.’ The shine was created in celebration of International Women Day.

Artist Anne De Carbuccia says, “Today, gender-based violence in the world kills and disables as many women aged 15 to 44 as cancer, malaria, traffic accidents and war combined. In celebration of International Women’s day and to honor women’s rights and empowerment around the world, I will be creating an Art Installation that will rise on March 10 at the United Nations on the terrace of the Delegates Dining Room. After UN Women For Peace Association’s Luncheon, I will dismantle the installation to recreate it permanently inside the empty fountain, made of black and white stones handpicked by Greek woman, based in front of the Secretariat building. Once completed, the artist will photograph her work.”
The Committee of Honor includes: Reem Acra; H.E. Nassir A. Al-Nasser; Sheikha Paula Al-Sabagh; Fadil Berisha; Jeffrey Bilhuber; Amb. Daniele Bodini; Geoffrey Bradfield; Camen Dell‘Orefice; Amb. Rosemary A. DiCarlo; H.E. Mary Flores, P.R. Honduras; Allan E. Goodman; Deirdre Imus; Robert Kraft; Lauren Bush Lauren; Francine LeFrak; Cindy McCain; Annlynne McCord; Amb. Isabelle Picco; Jeanine F. Pirro; Laurice Rahme; Kelly Rutherford; and Henry Timms.
The Benefit Committee includes: Arthur Brown, Giancarlo Bruno, Gioseta Capriati, Donna Corbat, Somers Farkas, Olivia Flatto, Beatriz Garcia, Julie Weindling Geier, Nicholas Gennis, Dr. Karen Burke Goulandris, Michal Grayevsky, Susan Gutfreund, Charlene Haroche, Pamela Jacovides, Jana Jaffe, Katie Jaffe, Janet Jensen, Elizabeth Kabler, Cheri Kaufman, Yung Hee Kim, Patricia Kluge, Geraldine Kunstadter, Corinne Lahmi, Karen LeFrak, Marcia Levine, Hanifa Mezoui, Nazee Moinian, Amy Mollenkamp-Chidiac, Beatrice Pei, Louis Perlman, Lila Prounis, Shari Scharfer Rollins, Paola Bacchini Rosenshein, Conchita Sarnoff, Sahar Baassiri Salam, Dr. Aida Saliby, Julie Freedman Steele, Pat Kerr Tigrett,Bill Todt, Julie Vacca, Nancye Miller Woolsey, Shpresa Xhakli, May Zawaideh, and May Zhao.
UNWFPA Board of Directors includes Mrs. Ban Soon-taek, Patron; Muna Rihani Al- Nasser, Chair; Barbara Winston, President; Rema DuPont, Vice President; Carole Haarmann Acunto; Sharon Bush; Valbona Neritani; Stephanie Winston Wolfoff; and Nassrin Iromloo Zahedi.
UNWFPA Board of Advisors: Katherine Stacy Deluke; Julie Weindling Geier; Avideh Ghaffari; Michal Grayevsky; Charlene Haroche; Deirdre Imus; Jana Jaffe; Cindy McCain; Conchita Sarnoff; Julie Friedman Steele; and Nancye Miller Woolsky.
UN Women for Peace Association, founded in 2008 under the patronage of H.E. Mrs. Ban Soon-taek, raises awareness of these terrible crimes. UNWFPA promotes and advances the goals of UN agencies who provide opportunities for women through social, cultural, educational, and empowerment programs under the banner of a global peace building process.

All of our proceeds go directly to the UN Trust Fund to End Violence Against Women, which aims to prevent violence against women and girls, provides services and programs to those affected by violence, and strengthens the implementation of laws and policies on such violence.

Media Contact:

Catherine Petree - Director of Events & Marketing - Jonathan Marder + Company 

Direct: 212.271.4284
Mobile: 917.856.2232